abbey gts vogue 12v

Aug 12, 2022
Visit site
Hi,
I am hoping you are able to help.
My elderly neighbour owns an Abbey caravan and is having some issues with parts of the 12V system. He asked me to see if I can identify the problem as my background is in electronic and electrical engineering.
The issue is there is no permanent 12V supply to the fridge and the battery charge indicator does not show battery health despite the fact the caravan battery is fully charged. The rest of the 12V system appears to be functioning perfectly well.
I have tested every fuse I can locate and all are ok.
My question is, are there any hidden fuses relating to the above and if so where are they located? Is there a wiring diagram available for these areas or a wiring loom diagram that would help locate the problem?

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
As above. The reason for this is because the fridge tends to use quite a lot of current and would flatten the battery in a few hours. The 12 v feed is only active when the tow vehicle is connected and running. Normally when on site and being used the fridge should be powered by mains 230V ac of gas.

Aug 12, 2022
Visit site
Hi Buckman,
Yep I realise that, but there should be, according to the manual, a 12V permanent supply from the caravan battery to the fridge board. This is so the boards electronics is powered up. But, apart from that, as far as I understand it, the battery condition meter should display the battery level when the button on the unit is pressed and it does not.
In additon to all of that I have connected to the vehicle, ignition on, and still no volts. I have removed the habitation relay and tested it and again all ok?

Aug 12, 2022
Visit site