Battery not powering caravan

Aug 25, 2021
Visit site
Hi All. Please forgive my lack of technical terminology, i'm relatively new to caravanning and currently have a Bailey Unicorn Valencia (2017). We've had a variety of issues in the year that we have owned it and earlier this year had to have the PCB changed.

Our current issue is as follows:
When the caravan is not connected to electric, we dont have any power from the battery for things like lights, pumps, heating, fridge (I could use gas for the latter). When i went to the caravan last night the solar panel control box had a flashing light, however after connecting the caravan to my home electrics over night the flashing light is now solid. If i could find my multimeter i could at least test the battery!

I have checked the fuses.
I have made sure everything is turned off overnight etc (even removed the radio front panel).

Any advice or assistance from any experienced or technically minded caravanners would be massively appreciated.

Thanks
Chris

Reactions: figbat
Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hello Chris.

FIrst of all the most obvious flaw you have mentioned is trying to run your fridge from 12V. Sadly they are not designed to be cooled by using the caravans 12V battery. The fridge and indeed all the other heating appliances would flatten the battery within just a few hours. The fridge should work from the car when you are towing and the alternator is making power, but once the engine if off, 12V to the fridges 12V cooling circuit ceases.

You are expected to run the fridge, water space heater on either Gas or Mains power when on site.

As for the other items like lights and water pump, they should of course work from 12V. Clearly teh first thing to check is does the battery have any charge? Are all the control switched set correctly, Do you have a problem with teh solar charger controller.

Many caravans have an inline fuse in teh wire connected to the battery have you checked that?

Aug 25, 2021
Visit site