Can 4-5 k can buy good caravan (4 berth)

Nov 16, 2021
Visit site
Hello everyone,
I am considering buying a caravan. It would be an upgrade from the tent, so any caravan realiable will be ok. The main reason is to be able to work from it (which is not possible from a tent). I am happy to do most DYI jobs (I have a lot of boat maintenance experience) and pay for towing and wheels related repairs. Obviously dump or bad-looking interior is a no-no, but I am not looking for anything superior.
I wonder if I am being reliable and I could get something for 4-5k? Are there some well-known dealerships near London which I could trust? Is there any paperwork that should be included with the caravan?

Jul 19, 2021
Visit site
Like second hand cars, it's going to be a bit of a gamble but you should definitely be able to find something in that price range.
Prices have gone crazy this year though as you may have noticed and there is a lot of tarted up carp around so you will have to do your homework.
You may have to travel some distance to get the caravan of your dreams though.
Also have an idea of how many berths , layout, size and weight you want/can tow with your car/license (although this may change eventually!)

May 24, 2014
Visit site
Firstly, and given past experience from most of us, I doubt there is a dealership in the whole UK you could fully trust. Some may be better than others, but trust me, If a dealership takes a lemon in px, they will have no qualms about selling it on.

However, yes, you can be a relaible caravan for 4 or 5k, but its pot luck. If you want to spend 5k on an old caravan, and it be worth 5k, delaers are not your best port of call, as they need to tuen a profit and are very good at doing so. add this to the massive shortage of new and used caravans, the prices are going to be inflated.