Car, Caravan with ATC - Weight Ratios

Oct 25, 2006
Visit site
An apology in advance for raising yet again questions of weight ratios between car and caravan, but I would appreciate members views on the following:-
Car
Kerbweight 1735Kg
Towing capacity 2200Kg
Nose weight max 100Kg
2.0Ltr Diesel.

Caravan
MPTLM 1645Kg
ATC fitted

The weight ration between car and caravan is 94.8%. I appreciate this is above the recommended 85% ratio and I certainly do not want to be in the position of the tail, the caravan, wagging the dog, the car.
The car is also used for everyday purposes and I am very pleased with it and would be a bit reluctant due to an overall increase in size of actual vehicle, running costs of an increased capacity engine from 2Ltr to say 2.5Ltr etc. etc.
I have been caravanning since early 2007 and have to date covered some twelve thousand miles, thankfully without incident.
I am a bit of an anorak and Victor Meldrew in that nose weights, loading etc are always check, keeping an Excel spread sheet of actual caravan contents with the various weights etc to ensure that neither van or car exceed their designed weights.

My question is although the 94% ration is on the high side, with the development of the ATC technology and having no experience of this, does ATC go some way to making the higher 94.8% ration an acceptable figure for towing as the car appears to have more than sufficient pulling power with a capacity of 2200Kg?

Any views, comments or observations would be most welcomed.

Bernard

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hello Bernard,

Based on the data you have supplied, The trailer is well within the tow vehicle capability so from that perspective the outfit is legal.

However as always it makes good sense to keep the trailer weights as small as possible, BUT good safe towing is always affected by several factors of which weight ratio is only one, and may not be the most significant.