Carry on Crazy Caravaning

Apr 25, 2006
Visit site
I'm planning to go abroad for 8 weeks with wife and 2 kids ( aged 4 1/2 and 2 1/2 )...

The fundamental plan is to go to various countries each for about a week and then move on.

I'm not experienced at caravaning, so have till summer 2008 to buy my caravan to go with my Berlingo 2.0 HDi Multispace and get used to it in the UK.

Something that worries me is the following...

1) Kids could get bored fast in a cramp caravan... have to make sure I book into caravan sites with the best facilities?.. swimming pool, restaurant etc. play park?

2) It will be too hot in the caravan / awning for kids to have a nap in the afternoon, do caravans have aircon?.. how bad can this get?

3) Driving abroad with crazy French and Italian drivers with a right hand drive car could be a nightmare and very stressful.

I'd appreciate any comments or experiences that you have had that might help me.

This is to be a huge trip abroad whilst between jobs and whilst kids havent started school, the last chance really for us to do a bit of a mega adventure.

Thanks.

Crazy Caravaner.

Aug 30, 2005
Visit site
Hi Derek,

We are new to caravanning and like you we are spending this year just going to sites in the UK learning the ropes, although we intend to go continental next year!

We have driven & motor biked in France, and found the roads are much better and quieter than here and we didn't have any problems, but I can't comment on other countries.

We brought a used caravan (8 months old) that has air-con, so yes you can get them.

Hope you have a lovely trip.

Vicky

Dec 16, 2003
Visit site
OK Derek.

I'm in southern France on route to a job in Spain and have been from home to Brindisi in Southern Italy and back via Naples, Rome and Venice before getting to Fance this morning. Have had no stress driving over 3000 continental miles and don't normaly when I have the caravan behind.