Carver Cascade 2. No Water from hot tap & pump on

Nov 21, 2016
Visit site
Hi everyone, I'm a complete newbie to motorhomes, and my plumbing skill could use a little help too. I have a camper van with a Carver Cascade 2 (at least that what the little brown switch next to it says). It's also has a submersible water pump that goes in the water tank, I don't know if it's made by whale, but looks similar.

Anyway, to the problem details. The pump stays on continuously when I turn on the pump. If I adjust the pressure by tuning the little plastic valve which I believe is the pump pressure valve, I can get it to pulse about once a second, but I know that's not right either, as it continues to pulse as long as the pump switch is on. As far as I can tell there's no wiring coming from the sink or the shower taps, that means there's no electric switches in the tap right?

Possibly related, and another issue I have: I can't get any water from the hot tap. When I turn on the cold tap, the pumps currently continuous noise changes tone and cold water comes out fine from the cold tap. When I turn on the hot tap, the pump doesn't change tone, and no water comes out, nothing happens.

I checked the heater, The little brown control switch has a green light on it. I don't know if it's on or off, as no matter where the switch is the green light stays on, and I tried to get hot water in both postions. I tried to press the reset button on the front of the heater itself, but it appears to be already depressed. Well, it's not flat against the suface, but when I tried to press it, it didn't move. Pulling it out simply pulls out slack on the button, but doesn't actually pull anything out. I don't know whether this is how the button is supposed to be, and I'm being weak and not pressing it hard enough, or whether it's already been pressed.