Check Caravan earth bonding for continuity

Jan 15, 2023
Visit site
Hi to everyone,
Could anyone advise me on how to check earth bonding for continuity on the touring caravan.
Many thanks in advance

Last edited:
Jul 18, 2017
Visit site
Are dealing with a touring or a static caravan/holiday home?
In the first post they stated it was a touring caravan, but not exactly sure of their question and if there is a fault somewhere with the connections inside the caravan or the connection to the vehicle?

Reactions: Dustydog
Jun 20, 2005
Visit site
Over the years there have been great changes on EHU and caravans on 230v wiring. We need to know the make model and age of Daren’s caravan

Jun 16, 2020
Visit site
I am not an electrician, but the only opportunity to bond a touring caravan is to the chassis. Though, I do not remember ever remember seeing a connection on mine. I have though heard of some who adding an earthing rod to permanently sited vans.

Other than that, surely just a matter of checking continuity.

The earth's integrity will, I feel sure, be checked as part of a service.

John

EDIT. after a little research I find that earthing rods are NOT a good plan when RCD’s are used.

Last edited:
Jun 20, 2005
Visit site
I am not an electrician, but the only opportunity to bond a touring caravan is to the chassis. Though, I do not remember ever remember seeing a connection on mine. I have though heard of some who adding an earthing rod to permanently sited vans.

Other than that, surely just a matter of checking continuity.

The earth's integrity will, I feel sure, be checked as part of a service.

John

EDIT. after a little research I find that earthing rods are NOT a good plan when RCD’s are used.
John , spot on .
I think the jury is still out and like you I am no qualified spark.

A chap on another caravan forum, no names , posted this a while back. One or two on here will fully comprehend what he says.BTW he is a fully qualified spark.