Complete Newbie needs advice on suitability of outfit

Feb 14, 2008
Visit site
Hi folks,

I've looked at numerous posts covering towing outfits but as a very nearly caravan owner I could really use some specific advice (and I promise not to sue anybody).

We've just paid a deposit on a 2005 van and, despite assurances from the dealer (large and highly respected) that our car is up to the job I'm starting to have some doubts. It's not helped by he fact that we are first time caravaners, I'm as green as the hills, and I've never towed anything in my life.

Initially we looked at a five birth van with bench seats at the front and a bed to make up in the rear. This weighed in at about 1070Kg unladen and all looked pretty good with respect to towing it behind my 2007 2.0 litre 140bhp turbo diesel Mondeo. Principally we'll be using he van for two or three, plus a dog, with an occasional four. However, we then had second thoughts and decided that a broadly similar sized van with a permanently made up bed in the rear and L-shaped seating arrangement would be a better proposition.

Problem is, that it's a little heavier......

Before we agreed to purchase, the kindly old gent who made the deal called up the van and my car on his state of he art 'Towsafe' software and dumped out a sheet to suggest that all was well. Subsequently, following further reading on my part, I've studied the form in more detail, and I'm not 100% convinced.

Now for some numbers:

Mondeo

Kerb 1559kg

Nose 75kg

Max tow 1800kg

Gross 2170kg

Train 3970kg

Van (single axle)

MRO 1193kg

MTPLM 1397kg

Payload 204kg

Est Nose 97kg