Couple of Questions from a Newbie

Aug 1, 2018
Visit site
Hi

I am really new to this caravanning thing.

Bought a cheap old van to try it out.. a Baileys Discovery 444

Everything seems fine with it and all seems to work.

Can you tell me.

1. Does everything switch over automatically when you hook up to 240v or do I have to throw some with in the van?

2. Does the leisure battery charge while on 240v hookup?

3 does the leisure battery charge whilst towing?

TIA

Regards

Rob

May 7, 2012
Visit site
Rob, Not sure about the first question, as some older caravans will have a master switch and some will not. It would normally be labelled, if there is one, and near the door. Can you advise the year of the van as that would help if no one on here has that model.
The caravan should have a charger that will charge the battery when on a hook up.
In theory the car will charge the battery when you are towing but this is minimal due to the thin wiring and the length of the cables. It should however keep a chilled fridge cool but will not cool it down if it has not been cooled earlier.

May 24, 2014
Visit site
To answer your questions, most vans will have a power switch to actually turn the power on. Being sensible, you should hookup first and then turn on.

The leisure battery does charge whilst on hookup with modern type vans, whether you have a single stage or three stage charger depends on the caravan itself.

If your towcar has been correctly wired, the leisure battery will charge whilst towing.

With a leisure battery, its important to keep it in tip top condition, its very difficult to resurrect a deeply discharged leisure battery. Try to find out how old your leisure battery is, they dont last forever.

Aug 1, 2018
Visit site
Thanks for the rapid replies guys.

The caravan is 2002.

I bought a new leisure battery as the one that came with it was knackered.

All looks good!

Rob

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Raywood said: