Daft question about axles

Jun 2, 2015
Visit site
What difference does having a twin axle make apart from the obvious of being able to carry more weight? I know it must sound daft, it does to me and I am an engineer, however I am intrigued to know what practical differences it make to the caravan.

Please no one point out that you have twice as many tyres.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
saint-spoon said:
What difference does having a twin axle make apart from the obvious of being able to carry more weight? I know it must sound daft, it does to me and I am an engineer, however I am intrigued to know what practical differences it make to the caravan.

Please no one point out that you have twice as many tyres.

Hello SS.
Strange as it may seem, a twin axle caravan of the same length as an SA may not have any major weight advantage. The reason is the the A-typical suspension on caravans is truly independant. Consequently if one of the axle becomes unloaded say by traversing a speed hump, virtually the entire weight of the trailer is supported by just one axle. Thus the specification of each axle has to be able to carry the MTPLM. This also means that each tyre should be specified as if just one axle is being used.

Consider a TA trailer being towed with its hitch at its upper height limit. More load will shifted to the rear axle, and the leading axle will be carrying less, switch the nose height to its lowest limit and the relative axle loading will occur.

The situation is different for large multi-axle lorries, as they use tandem axles which are interlinked to provide load sharing. meaning that if the wheels have to traverse an discontinuity the trailer wheels conform and the load sharing links keep the relative differential loading on the axles to a minimum.