Detachable Tow Bars / Breakaway Cables - Warning

Mar 21, 2009
Visit site
Do you have a detachable tow bar? Do you have a caravan with an Al Ko Kober Chassis? Do you have the correct breakaway cable fitted? Not sure? - Read on.....

My wife and I bought a Peugeot 4007 4x4 to tow our first caravan (we are complete novices).The 4007 was later fitted with a Peugeot detachable tow bar by the Peugeot dealer because the drop down section of the tailgate would hit a fixed tow bar.

When I got the car home and had a play with the tow ball I saw that the instructions showed an eye should have been fitted to the side of the bracket up under the bumper for the breakaway cable to be clipped to.There was no eye and the blurb in the 'Getting Started' caravan leaflet said that looping the cable of the tow ball was the preferred method and that the manufacturer / supplier must be contacted before doing otherwise.

First thing next morning I spoke to the Al Ko Technical Department who told me under no circumstances was I to clip the cable to the eye even if one became available.The reasons being:

1. The clip is not designed to withstand the strain of a caravan breaking away from the tow vehicle unless the cable is looped round the tow bar and clipped back on itself in the manner of a dogs choke lead.If the cable is not looped the clip will fail before the caravan brake is fully applied and the caravan could career on down the road with potentially serious consequences.