Dilemma

Aug 4, 2020
Visit site
Hi all, I’m totally new to touring and I have a decision to make which I really need help with.
I have been offered a 1990’s abbey Lancaster for £250 from a work colleague. This is what he paid for it 12 months ago but it obviously hasn’t been used this year due to covid-19.
It needs a good clean both inside and out but I’m not sure what other jobs I’ll need to do both for comfort and more importantly, safety.
Any help and advice will be greatly appreciated,
Mark.

Nov 11, 2009
Visit site
Hi all, I’m totally new to touring and I have a decision to make which I really need help with.
I have been offered a 1990’s abbey Lancaster for £250 from a work colleague. This is what he paid for it 12 months ago but it obviously hasn’t been used this year due to covid-19.
It needs a good clean both inside and out but I’m not sure what other jobs I’ll need to do both for comfort and more importantly, safety.
Any help and advice will be greatly appreciated,
Mark.
Welcome to the Forum.
Has it been damp checked throughout recently? If not have it done or buy a meter. Damp cannot always be seen or smelt but unless you are good at DIY it could be expensive to repair, or may even require extensive rebuild. Has it been serviced for it’s running gear. Does it have gas if so was the system integrity checked in the service? I guess that the tyres are over five years if so they and spare need renewing. Safety of the running gear/ hitch/ brakes/ lights and chassis are paramount if you plan to tow it. Comfort is very much a personal choice once you have satisfied yourself that the essentials are okay.

Reactions: Mark-k
Oct 12, 2016
Visit site
Get an AWS approved engineer to inspect it preferably before you buy it but be prepared for bad news. It’s going to cost you most of your purchase price again to get it serviced, safe to live in and tow safely providing its structurally sound ( not going to fall off the chassis)