First tow - any tips? And some reassurance sought! :)

Jun 13, 2007
Visit site
I am picking up my caravan on Wednesday night, and altho I have some experience towing a large flat bed trailer and a 10x5 box trailer, this caravan is going to be the biggest I've pulled and I've never towed with this car before. Can anyone offer any tips on my first caravan tow? I'm not going far, only about 25 miles, mostly motorway but I also have to take it along country roads at one point, through a town centre more than likely and also over a bridge spanning a river. My main issue is judging how much space I have, and also working out where the back of the end of the caravan is. I doubt I will be going much overtaking but any tips on all of the above would be appreciated.

Also, my biggest worry is getting the caravan stuck some where and causing a hold up, like going down a dead end or getting into a meet situation and having to back out of it. A very likely scenario in my small village where there is usually lines of parked cars down each side of the street and lazy drivers who do not look up past the line of traffic and do not plan ahead. They frequently go flying into the said line of parked cars and only work out what they're going to do about the car coming the other way when they actually meet it, or else leave the other driver to compensate for their lack of planning. I don't see that I will have any choice in this situation but to hold my ground and make the other driver get out of my way. I am very inexperienced at reversing trailers, much less a caravan and my caravan reversing lights will not work until I have my 12S socket put on. Has anyone ever encountered such situations, and what's the best way to deal with them? Likewise if you do end up down a dead end or unable to proceed because of the size of your rig, what to do?

Many thanks for everyone's help so far, and in advance for all further suggestions.

Nov 9, 2006
Visit site