Hello everyone

Jan 7, 2017
Visit site
Complete newbies here. No doubt I'm gonna ask loads of questions that have been asked thousands of times before. A bit about us. Married with 2 kids (6 & 9 mth). My Mrs is a horse rider and is selling her horse box as she wants to buy a horse trailer and therefore we will be getting a Kia Sorrento at some point this year. We enjoyed holidays away in a trailer tent last year but decided a caravan is the way forward. So the question is....which one and how much should we pay for a 1st caravan ? We would like fixed bunks and somewhere for the kids to get washed/showered. Apart from that, we aren't too bothered other than we will also need an awning. Many thanks in advance.

Neil

Damian

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Welcome to the forum, and I hope you get the answers to any of your questions.
To start with, "which one", you and your wife are the only people who can determine what is "right" for you and your family.
Go to as many caravan dealers and look at as many vans as you can, and see what layout suits you all best, then you can start looking for one.

How much should you pay? depends on your finances and how much you are prepared to pay for the van that suits you.

I am sure you will get all kinds of tech replies about licence entitlements, weight limits etc so I wlll not go there !!!!

Aug 23, 2009
Visit site
Whato and welcome,

What a dilemma. As Damien says, check out your licence entitlement first so you can sort your weights.

As far as family layouts are concerned fixed bunks are fine up to about the 5' mark or so and then access and sitting to read in bed can be an issue.