Hello & new to caravanning, advice please :)

Jan 9, 2020
Visit site
Hello all
Thank you for accepting us to the group, we have decided to travel this year and after 2 months of searching for a suitable van have decided to join caravan life instead.
We are viewing our first caravan on Sunday, a 2009 coachman amara 2 berth and would like to know what to look for? It has been heat damaged and has caused some slight rippling to one side and have been assured it hasn’t affected anything but we as complete novices would like as much info as possible and all your advice would be greatly received.
Many thanks 😊

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hello Jo & Rich,

Welcome to the forum.

It is obviously very difficult for us to comment specifically about the caravan you are looking at as we would need to be able to see it in the flesh, but I do suggest extreme caution!

Caravan wall construction usually consists of an outer aluminium skin an inner vinyl covered wooden skin and a foam board insulation between. These are usually bonded together in modern caravans, and in slightly older vans they may be a relatively loose fit.

If the outer skin has got hot enough to be damaged, it is almost certain the skin will have transferred heat to the foam fill. The foam should not be able support a flame, but it will almost certainly melt or shrivel.

I have to assume that from the nature of your question, you are not experienced in caravan repairs, as often the cost of getting it repaired can be eye watering. The fact you know a caravan has been damaged can reduce the enjoyment of using it, as well as reducing its value.

So my advice is walk away from a known damaged caravan.

Best of luck

Oct 22, 2019
Visit site
Hello, I would 2nd what Prof said above. We searched long and hard before we finally purchased. Have a look around some dealers first to get a feel of layouts etc that you like. Listen to your gut rather than your heart too!