Help me I’m just new heh heh!

May 3, 2021
Visit site
Hi all
Thanks for allowing me to join this forum,I am new to touring caravanning and ready to call on all you seasoned caravanners,I am cheating a bit as I have put it on a seasonal site this year till the obvious sorts itself out,first few bits of knowledge I would like is basic usage of the van ,mainly do I use electric or gas for the trauma water heater ? Also do I leave it on low constant or just heat water when I need it ? Also basically the same for the heating ? I have a Bailey Pegasus 534 , and am slowly getting the hang of it so hopefully next year “Time to tour” just after any tips not solely to save money (although that helps) but how to get the best out of my van,hopefully someone will take pity on me and help me out??
Thanks in advance
George p

Parksy

Nov 12, 2009
Visit site
Hi George, welcome to the forum and congratulations on buying your caravan 😊
On your seasonal pitch is your electricity paid for as part of the pitch fee or is it metered to pay for what you use?
If you have already paid for the electricity upfront as part of the site fee you might as well heat your water and your caravan using the electricity that you've already paid for.
Personally speaking, we turn the immersion heater on just to heat the water that we want to use, I wouldn't like to leave any electrical appliance on full time in our caravan.
Similarly for the heating, we turn it on (usually electric) when we need it.
I'm sure that you'll have many more questions that forum members will be happy to answer, and don't forget that if you return to the home page there's a wealth of information on all aspects of using your caravan on the website.
Click the text on the various headings to navigate to the information and editorial content.

May 3, 2021
Visit site
Hi George, welcome to the forum and congratulations on buying your caravan 😊