Kerbweight v 85% ratio

Status
Not open for further replies.
Mar 24, 2013
Visit site
Hi
Looking at a towcar with 95% towmatch for my caravan. As an experienced driver my question is if I place the awning in the car will that decrease this ratio?

Jul 18, 2017
Visit site
The 85% is only a guideline and not law however it is sensible to keep under 95% of the vehicle's kerbweight. Also some insurance companies restrict towing to a maximum of 95% one being Towergate. With modern cars I would think that up to 95% of the kerbweight of a car is safe, but that is up to each individual to determine for themselves.

Reactions: JezzerB
May 7, 2012
Visit site
The awning will not increase the kerb weight calculation but will certainly help the car control the caravan and with some load allowances being too low help keep you within the caravans MTPLM. Do try to keep it between the axles for the best distribution of the weight.

Oct 8, 2006
Visit site
85% for clarification is guidance for drivers new to towing. Once you have experience under your belt 100% is acceptable and quite safe.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
As others have stated changing the load plan does not change the oft quoted towing ratio. The towing ratio is a very coarse and inaccurate way of comparing outfits and helping to choose cars or caravans. It assumes a worst case scenario of an empty car and a fully laden caravan on which to base the calculation.

Of course every change in the loading scheme does change the effective ratio, and generally most outfits will in reality be better than the calculated ratio.

Domestic drivers should aim to keep the car heavier than any trailer, but must also ensure they do not exceed any of the legal weight limits such as max axle, tow ball and vehicle weight limits.

Jan 31, 2018
Visit site