Mover Investment

Oct 30, 2021
Visit site
Apologies if this is duplicating any other posts, but I've done a search and can't find anything recent on this specific query

I need to make my life easier when pitching my caravan (hence my 'Reversing' thread :)) and hooking it up to leave on miserable rainy days

I would love the all singing all dancing mover(s) but looking for something a bit more less expensive, although I'm not fully against biting the bullet if it is a long term investment

I am new to caravanning, but foolishly invested in a 7.5m twin axle as my intro to caravanning. After a bit of practice I managed to hitch it up easily and drive on different types of roads, but think I will struggle for a while when arriving and leaving sites as we may only go away 4 or 5 times a year (which is another factor why I may not buy top of the range mover)

Anyway, my questions are:

• With twin axle I've been told you need a mover for each wheel/side of the caravan, doubling the cost. Is this correct?
  • Realistically, how much on average could I pick up a mover, second hand or new, for my type of van?
  • If I invest in a mover can it be transferred to my next van?
  • I am relatively fit and able (albeit carrying a couple of extra pounds (stone :rolleyes:)) so is Motorised Jockey Wheel a suitable alternative?

Nov 6, 2005
Visit site
Twin movers are better for twin axles but some caravanners cope with just one

Movers can be transferred - dealers will often enhance the trade-in if you leave it on

Motorised jockey wheels don't have a good reputation as they have so little weight on them they don't grip well.

Jun 16, 2020
Visit site
Twin movers are better, but also add a lot more weight which needs considering. You can get single movers designed for twin axles which have a shovel affect. Never owning a twin axle I would guess that if you only have single movers, it will limit the degree of turning available.