My water heater is showing a fault

Feb 17, 2022
Visit site
I have a 1998 Abbey 517 GTS Vogue with a Cascade water heater. I think Ive worked out how it works but the panel is showing that there's a fault. I turned on the pump, the rocker switch next to it has either car or van so I used van, then turned on the heater switch. New to this so am I doing something wrong.

Mel

Mar 17, 2007
Visit site
I am not technical, so these are the obvious questions, apologies if you have already covered it. But always worth asking.
is there water in the water tank?
Are you running on electric, ( don’t know if Carver systems can run on electric?) but if so, are you plugged into mains hook up.
Are you running on gas, in which case do you have gas supply. Is there an external vent cover that needs to be removed.
There are people who know much more about Carver systems than I do, hopefully someone can help.
good luck
mel

Feb 17, 2022
Visit site
Yeah, mains and gas connected and water in the aqua roll. Caravan has a switch under one of the seats which was also on. I have no idea what it's running off..

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hello Stennor

I'm not sure what you were expecting teh water heater to do, that might seem a daft question, but it could be your expectations are beyond the reality of what's available, so briefly:-

The Carver Cascade 2 and 2GE models, do not produce instant hot water.

I suggest you review teh operating instructions which you can find here:-

Reactions: Mel
Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Yes! It peeps through the polystyrene
The red button Jaydug has pointed out only relates to the electric element, and would not produce a red fault light on the Cascade's wall box.

The red light indicates that the gas system has been asked to ignite, but has failed to do so. There are several possible reasons that might arise, and without a more indepth report it's simply not possible to give a copper bottomed accurate explanation of what the fault is.