New puppy, tips please!

Apr 6, 2008
Visit site
Hi, we have a new puppy (Ted, he is gorgeous!) who is currently 12 weeks old. We are booked for a weeks holiday in the Lakes in 2 weeks time, so he will be new on the lead then (we are still currently housebound due to vaccinations!) I would really appreciate any tips, e.g where should I locate his crate overnight? Any tips on walking him? Any ideas for toilet stops between Whitley Bay and Keswick? We are complete newbies and want his first caravan trip to be positive for him (and us!)
Oh and any kit we'll need? We have bought a tent peg-style 'thing' for attaching his lead on the pitch and a lightweight crate.
Many thanks! :))

Jun 20, 2005
Visit site
Hi Angel

we took our two away at 13 weeks old to Trewethett Farm CC.
Their injections were upto date.
Yes. Very young and not fully house trained.
We restricted them to the front of the caravan. They were put out for the toilet every two to four hours through the night. Only let back in when they had been clean, They ran the cliff walk to Tintantagel twice off the lead.
We introduced the voice hand and whistle commands.
They did a runner from me on day three.
I found them back at the caravan!

Be brave. Give him a long rope where it is safe.

Aug 4, 2005
Visit site
We took our dog with us for her first trip in the Spring of this year although she was a good bit older than yours, she would have been about 6 months old at that time.
You asked where to put the crate? Suppose that is going to depend on where you have space. Don't think I would want to put a pup out in the awning overnight though. Regards toilet trips,same as Dustydog suggests, take him out at regular intervals.
I would also be wary of the external tether you mention unless someone was going to be outside with him. He could get himself in a right tangle.