New to caravaning

Mar 30, 2023
Visit site
Been to look at an elddis avante 840 today advertised for 23,000 the guy has advertised as full service history but upon checking it was last done in 2020?
He told me due to covid no vans were serviced 21 / 22 I find this hard to believe?
Can some one shed some light on this for me please

I no it might sound daft but like I say I'm new to this so will be the first caravan I'm buying... Don't really no what I'm looking for or checking!

Nov 6, 2005
Visit site
Our caravan wasn't serviced in 2020 due to lockdown but was serviced normally in 2021 and 2022 - so walk away and find another.

Nov 11, 2009
Visit site
What he told you is rubbish. Mine was serviced 2020 and 2021. It was done by an Approved Workshop Scheme technician. The warranty on the caravan will have lapsed through non servicing. As stated above “walk away”.

Last edited:
Reactions: Buckman
Mar 30, 2023
Visit site
Thank you for your reply... I had my doubts that's why I thought I'd ask on here.
You've made my mind up for me so it's back on the hunt for another one.

Reactions: RogerL
Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hello Bobwilk,

Especially when buying a secondhand but newish caravan that might still have some manufacturers warranty left, it is vitally important for it to have a full up to date record of approved services, otherwise the manufacturer will not support the remaining warranty.

I get the impression that you are buying privately and not from a dealer, so you should be aware that whilst you might save 10 to 15% of a dealers price, you are on your own if anything is found untoward with the caravan, whereas with a dealer you will not only get a dealers guarantee, but you will also have the backing of the Consumer Rights Act which can be a very strong ally if the seller doesn't act fairly with you.