Newbie - How does towing affect mpg?

Feb 3, 2018
Visit site
Hi everyone - I am a total newbie to caravans, we are about to purchase our first second hand van.
The issue is I have a petrol car (I have been told diesel is better for towing) which I cannot change at the moment as it was brand new just over 12 months ago.

The car is a Nissan Qashqai 1.6 DIG-T Petrol - the book says 1500kg braked towing. The caravan I am looking at is a Bailey Ranger 540/6 2009 MTPLM 1306 kg.

What percentage will towing affect my MPGs please? Is there a website to calculate it? I currently get around 40-45mpg (average)on a motorway run - 30mpg around town. I am scared that I'll buy this van and get 10mpg or something! What realistically can I expect please?

Nov 11, 2009
Visit site
I had a 2014 2.0 litre petrol non turbo Forester at 150bhp rated output. On solo journeys it would do around 35-38 mpg. Towing 1300 kg and with the car loaded it would be around 20-22 mpg. I don’t think that there is any way you can calculate it. But no doubt the figures don’t look great but you need to consider them in relation to the balance of towing mileage to solo mileage.
My present Car a 2.0 170ps auto 4wd diesel will do 50-55 mpg on a run and reduces to around 30 mpg when towing 1300 kg.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
mwilde said:
Hi everyone - I am a total newbie to caravans, we are about to purchase our first second hand van.
The issue is I have a petrol car (I have been told diesel is better for towing) which I cannot change at the moment as it was brand new just over 12 months ago.

The car is a Nissan Qashqai 1.6 DIG-T Petrol - the book says 1500kg braked towing. The caravan I am looking at is a Bailey Ranger 540/6 2009 MTPLM 1306 kg.

What percentage will towing affect my MPGs please? Is there a website to calculate it? I currently get around 40-45mpg (average)on a motorway run - 30mpg around town. I am scared that I'll buy this van and get 10mpg or something! What realistically can I expect please?