Noseweight - Towed or Stowed?

Jul 28, 2018
Visit site
Hi all,

I'm new to caravanning having had one a few years back for one short break and then having to sacrifice it for affordability reasons. I'm just trying to get back into it and am a bit confused with weights.

Could someone please give me a definitive answer regarding noseweight.. Should I be including noseweight in the towed weight of the van or in the weight loaded "in" the car? It obviously(?) can't be counted in both as there's only one nose.

For example, let's assume the following random (but nice to work with) numbers:
- Van MRO: 1200kg
- Noseweight: 75kg
- Van MTPLM: 1400kg
Does the noseweight when towing the van empty mean the car's actually towing 1125kg, and with the van up to MTPLM, towing 1325kg?

Thanks in advance, I'm sure the answer is out there somewhere but I certainly can't find it.

Nov 11, 2009
Visit site
When you are towing the 75 kg noseweight is considered as part of the cars load. However please don’t ask “does this mean I can carry another 75kg in the caravan?” You will open a long and protracted discussion which concludes with no definitive answer! It all depends on the understanding of MTPLM and it’s legal standing were you to be pulled over by VOSA and weighed.

Mar 14, 2005
lutzschelisch.wix.com
The car is only actually towing the axle load of the caravan, not its total weight which includes the noseweight. The noseweight is part of the car's payload.
Of course, however, the total weight of the caravan is its axle load plus the noseweight.
You are therefore correct when you say that if the caravan is at its MTPLM of 1400kg and the noseweight 75kg, the car is actually only towing 1325kg.

Mar 14, 2005
lutzschelisch.wix.com
otherclive said: