Reversing- help!

May 22, 2008
Visit site
Hi we are newbies, only been out twice in our van, I am a confident driver travelling over 40k per year, I am ok going forward with the van, but have no confidence at all with regards to reversing, i dare not attemp when pitching up on site for fear of making a mess of it in front of all the watchers behind the curtains, anybody have any advice?

I unhitch and push it !

Mel

Mar 17, 2007
Visit site
What does it matter what other people think of your reversing! The ones who might go on to become friends will remember what it was like for them when they started. The others... well you wouldn't want to be friends with them anyway. So have a go. Make a pigs ear out of it, get out of the car and laugh loudly. We are British, we know how to laugh at ourselves! The opinion of people who are neither friends, family or supportive strangers is irrelevant.

mel

Dec 30, 2009
Visit site
Hi Christopher, Take some time out to go to one of your local carparks on a Sunday or when its quiet and practice your reversing.

Dont try to reverse to your passengers side this is called your blind side, and it is blind you cant see anything, always reverse to your drivers side. That way you can look over your shoulder out of you drivers window and see where the back of the caravan is going.

Ive been driving hgv artics for 2 years now and still hate blind side reversing, id rather dive up the road turn around and drive back so I can reversre the easy way. You will **** it up loads mainly when othe people are watching, Dont worry pull forward and try again, sod the people watching

Good luck

Kevin

Mar 21, 2008
Visit site
Hi Christopher,

Have a go reversing on the following site, I found it helpful:

http://www.ukcampsite.co.uk/games/reverse.asp
Having limited towing experience with a small trailer, I found the caravan a lot easier to reverse - being that much larger everything happens more slowly.