Setting up satellite system with Humax HD Box

Aug 31, 2008
Visit site
I am a newbie to satellite TV, caravan or home. I've recently bought a second hand Maxview dish and tripod and new Humax HD box to use in our caravan. I have been trying out this setup at home. My son kindly setup the HD box using the Sky dish on his house. I am struggling to get a signal when testing the dish and box in our garden but think that may be to do with problems of getting a good clear "line of sight" due to adjacent buildings. I have now discovered disponinter.com and plan to try setting up the dish again tomorrow using the readings given for my home on there.

I have been using the excellent Satelitforcaravans.co.uk website to help me but I am, however, puzzled by one paragraph of Satellite for Caravans websites's instructions for the Humax box.

"Anyway, go to the Manual Tune screen via Menu and Setup. Then on the Transponder line, click the right arrow to get the transponder list. Select 11426 H 27500 A and click OK. (11426 MHz is the frequency of the transponder that carries the EPG, so find that frequency and you have the programme guide.) Now aim the dish as described above until you get a signal strength and quality of at least 50%. If the channel list doesn't appear, go to Freesat Tune (Menu/Setup/OK, then select Freesat Tune/OK) and the channels should then found. Select Save/OK. Exit the Menu system."

On the transponder line of the Humax box's manual setup screen I cannot find the reading of 11426H27500 only 11426V27500.

Any advice can give on this would be most appreciated.

Thanks

Tim

Aug 31, 2008
Visit site
Hi

David Sullivan of satelliteforcaravans.co.uk replied to an email I sent him - in UNDER ONE HOUR. He said that the transponder setting was not 11426H27500 but 11426V27500. The former frequency on the his website was a typo.

So armed with the dishpointer figures I'll be out in the garden trying again tonight - weather permitting.

Tim

Reg

Jan 12, 2008