Spec plate location and laws.

Mar 16, 2020
Visit site
I am new to caravanning but I have been told that if I can not locate the specification plate on my Swift Corniche 14/2 E then it is not legal to tow. I have checked inside and out and have tried to access the a frame but have had no luck locating the spec plate or anywhere that a spec plate might once have been. Firstly, is it legal to tow a caravan if I can't find the spec plate? Where would I find this written down somewhere? and finally can anyone tell me where the spec plate should be on my caravan. Thank you in advance and sorry for such a basic questions.

Nov 16, 2015
Visit site
Ellzani, welcome, My caravan 2013 caoachman is supposed to have a plate next to the door and one on the front bulkhead, ie near the gas bottles at the front, the one at the front has never been there, and the one near the door is fading, so i would think, the answer would be yes you can tow the caravan, as axle limits and rating should be on the towbar. I am sure you will get better information.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Paraphrased from the National Trailer & Towing Association : Since 1982 regulations demand that all caravans, must be clearly marked with their maximum gross weight in kg. This may be checked at any time by the police at a weighbridge.

That basically says it all. Presuming you caravan is younger , then if the plate is not present then your outfit will be contravening this regulation.o I do not know what might happen, but its only likely to come to light if you are stopped.

You might find the Swift owners forum might be able to help.

Apr 6, 2017
Visit site
Paraphrased from the National Trailer & Towing Association : Since 1982 regulations demand that all caravans, must be clearly marked with their maximum gross weight in kg. This may be checked at any time by the police at a weighbridge.

Hi Prof,

Would the axle rating tag or tyre ratings be sufficient guide to the maximum mass be acceptable to the Police?