Jan 15, 2023
Visit site
Hi guys I am new to caravanning, bought a delta lunar caravan 2011, I didn’t know what to check for anyway the fridge a thetford N175 is not working on gas not sure about electricity or battery as haven’t plugged it in. Any way I took the burner cover off the fridge and burner not getting gas and igniter not sparking. Anyone know what the problem is? Is it likely to be the black electrical controller with all the wires going into it? Or I read about it possibly being a Thermocouple, which could explain the no gas? But wouldn’t it still try to spark (ignite) I realise the igniter could be faulty too. Not sure how to troubleshoot to find the cause.

Nov 6, 2005
Visit site
Have you turned the gas isolation taps on - there's probably three, one for the fridge, one for the cooker and one for the heater.

You say you're not sure about electricity or battery as you haven't connected them yet - without the 12v battery in place, the fridge won't fire up.

Reactions: Jcloughie
Jul 18, 2017
Visit site
Hi guys I am new to caravanning, bought a delta lunar caravan 2011, I didn’t know what to check for anyway the fridge a thetford N175 is not working on gas not sure about electricity or battery as haven’t plugged it in. Any way I took the burner cover off the fridge and burner not getting gas and igniter not sparking. Anyone know what the problem is? Is it likely to be the black electrical controller with all the wires going into it? Or I read about it possibly being a Thermocouple, which could explain the no gas? But wouldn’t it still try to spark (ignite) I realise the igniter could be faulty too. Not sure how to troubleshoot to find the cause.
When last was the caravan serviced as they may have turned off the isolation taps? Also if it has not been serviced in the past year, it ,may be worth having it serviced for the safety of your family and yourself as you do not want any gas leaks into the caravan.