Wastewater container design

Oct 30, 2011
Visit site
Hello,
As a number of you will already know, i am a product design student and am trying to improve the wastewater container.
Could you answer me a few questions please;
1.) What is the maximum price you would be prepared to pay for an improved wastewater container?
I'm trying to find out the ideal capacity of a wastewater container;
What capacity would you like? (if there was not as much weight on the handle as the wastemaster)
The wastemaster is 38L and the waste hog is 45L
The weight also needs to be manageable for a female user so bear this in mind - or is the wastewater more the man's job?
Thanks’ for your help
Alex

Feb 17, 2007
Visit site
This is not about the weight but the ' handleability '. Not all sites have wastewater disposal drains at ground level so the container has to be hoisted into a sink or over a small wall. Used by male or female there is a need to consider this - even 35 litres slopping about can cause a problem. Also think on if providing ' bungee ' type straps for securing the toilet cassette to the water container. While lifting one up to a knee level disposal sink - without a toilet cassette attached I would add - one strap became unhooked, whipped back and removed my glasses.

Aug 4, 2004
Visit site
It is all about weight as when waster master is full it weighs 38kg and when waste hog is full it weighs 45kg. Lifting it to pull to the disposal unit can be streneous on the back. One could design a 3 or 4 wheel unit to pull it along, but not all caravan parks or CLs have nice smooth surfaces. Anyway you still have to lift it to empty it. A battery powered unit would weigh too much and infringe on your caravan's payload.
BTW have you every spent a holiday in a touring caravan? If not, perhaps you should do that first before thinking of a design. That is called doing research which seems to be missing when it comes to caravan design.

Jan 19, 2008
Visit site
Surfer said: