Whale socket - chip or no chip?

Jul 14, 2022
Visit site
Hi there,
As you can see I am a new member. I am hoping someone can clear this up for me and thanks in advance!
I recently bought a '95 Abi sprinter 400D and there are a few little issues which I am sorting- but running out of time as we have a trip booked.
I was given a whale pump with the caravan (No idea if this is working condition) and when plugged in it doesn't appear to power up when trying tap. (Just a single cold water tap in kitchen). Checked all fuses. And then saw there's no micro chip component (micro switch?) In the socket. My query is, should there be one or is it possible for a basic system like this not to require that? The tap is simple but does have cable to it and a little 'switch' sound.
Apologies if this sounds stupid- I've no experience with these pumps at all ๐Ÿ˜ฌ.
Any help very much appreciated. ๐Ÿ˜Š

Jan 19, 2002
Visit site
There are two possible systems:
Pressure system - the back of the inlet has a pressure switch (adjustable) so when you turn on the tap, the water runs, pressure drops, and the pump is activated to draw water from the external barrel.
Microswitch system - each tap has a microswitch within it so when the tap is turned on the microswitch operates the pump drawing water from the barrel. This should be easy to identify as there will be 2 wires to each tap base that are connected.
To fill the system turn the tap furthest from the inlet to the hot side and run until smooth flow, repeat for each tap turned to hot. Then return to the furthest tap and do the same with the cold side. The system is then bled and ready.
If you have no running water check if there are filters to unscrew at the tap ends and make sure they are clean (a regular job).
Check the connections are clean where the whale block plugs in the van, and wiggle the pump in the barrel to ensure that there is no air lock. Also check the fuse.
Howzat for starters - and welcome to the forum.

Jul 14, 2022