Where to find weight for Piper 1100t?

Aug 4, 2014
Visit site
Hi I'm sorry if this is really obvious but I'm new to this.! I've recently bought a cosalt piper 1100t 1982 which is a lovely if a bit tattered caravan for our entry into caravaning. ( I'm going to do it up ) I have read articles and looked online to work out the weight. On the van there is a plate that says gross weight 700kg is that the weight talked about for towing or is there another. I'm thoroughly confused at the moment. :dry:

Ps sorry if this is in the wrong place :)
Thanks for any help

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hello Host,

The plate that says Gross weight 700Kg, means that is the maximum the caravan can weigh when it is fully loaded otherwise known as MTPLM. I can't tell you what the ex works weight was but it would obviously be less than 700Kg

Aug 4, 2014
Visit site
Hi - thanks for that information. I got confused as I wasn't sure whether the 700 would be the MTPLM or the weight before ! My husband has grandad rights but I was using the info at the back of this months issue or Practical Caravan to work it out for me and my Volvo c30.
I am pleased to say if 700 is the MTPLM I'm good to go just need a tow bar fitted now as I'm sure my Volvo will be more economical than husbands work van :)

May 7, 2012
Visit site
Enjoy the caravan, we started out with a Piper 1000T which is even smaller. At 700kg the Volvo should hardly notice it.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
In the 1983 Glasses Guide, it quotes the ex works weight as 10.5cwt or 533kg in new money.
Speaking of money, new your van cost £1999, year before though it was £2237 and in 83 £2149....weird??

Aug 4, 2014
Visit site