21st century caravan design

Mar 15, 2010
Visit site
Dear Readers,

I am currently studying for a degree in Product Design at the University of Nottingham and my final project looks at redesigning the caravan/camping experience for the 21st century. I intend to come up with a design that is a departure from convention but still maintaining the spirit of the caravan and incorporating innovative methods of creating space.

I would like to collect some information from current caravan owners or avid campers about your camping experiences. What are the main things that you like and dislike about your caravan? Which features are essential and are there any that you don't even use? Any fundamental or minor problems during towing, or everyday use (e.g. when cooking, sleeping, storage etc)? Have you any thoughts about improvements that could be made in existing caravan design to cater for your needs?

Any feedback will be very helpful for me in understanding the needs of the market and to be able to put together a design specification.

Thanks, N.

Jun 20, 2005
Visit site
Hi N

On the assumption I don't completely metamorphosise into a dog I'd say you need to seek out a real "Tardis" design. More on the inside , less on the outside. Ideally I'd like to tow a caravan with a roof height less than the car. The ability to convert to a double decker on site with loads of space will be welcome.

Cheers

Dustydog

Parksy

Nov 12, 2009
Visit site
Hi Nathaniel

I've seen posts on forums from caravanners who never use the shower which is a standard fitting within caravans at the moment.

Perhaps you could come up with a modular caravan interior whereby a caravan buyer chose from a range of interchangeable options to fit out a 'shell' and which could be changed further, for instance those with small children have different requirements to empty nesters so maybe the interior could evolve as needs alter?