Advice needed re. Toyota Lucida overheating

Apr 1, 2006
Visit site
I have recently changed caravans from an early 90's Ci Super Sprite (5 berth), to a mid 90's Swift Challenger. I tow with a 1994 Toyota Lucida Estima (grey import MPV), which is an automatic 2.2TD. It towed the Sprite absolutely fine, but it is overheating when towing the Swift.

Does anyone have experience of towing with this car, or advice they can offer?

A couple of people have mentioned to me that it is due to it being an auto, and that I need to get a cooler/fan fitted. Does anyone have eperience of doing this, know if it resolves the overheating, and know of likely cost?

Many thanks in advance

Oct 19, 2005
Visit site
hi dave

i have never owned a lucida but i work as a technician for a manufacturer.the 1st thing that i would check is the weight difference -if any betwwen the caravans.if it is similar then you may have a problem with a brake binding on the van.it could just be an over adjusted brake

if the caravan is heavier then before you go fitting extra cooling components i would the car first there are several things you can do that cost very little or nothing

1.check the radiator core is not clogged with bugs or road dirt.if it is you can blow clean with an airline or pressure washer take care with this one-DONT PUT IT RIGHT UP TO IT -keep it about 2/3 feet away from.you may have to take the rad out fist depending on access

2.make sure you are running the car on a 50/50 water/antifreeze mix.to sort this you would have to drain the cooling system the refill.taking care as to get the mixture right as too mich a/freeze is worse the to little

3.check theat any belts that drive the water pump(if any) are adjusted correctly

4.chek wiyh toyota that your car doesnt need an air scoop fitting the bumper .early citreons needed the fitting

see how you get on with that lot

i tow a twin axle with a vito auto without any problems

Mar 14, 2005
lutzschelisch.wix.com