alko stabalizer and 4x4

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
I wonder if anybody could advise on the correct use of the Alko Stablizer. Let me explain.

I am new to caravanning and tow a Sterling Eccles Moonstone with a Landrover Freelander. My problem is when hitching up, I am not able to put the Alko Stabalizer handle in full upright position, only partial due to the spare wheel mount. I already have a spacer fitted on the towbar, so cannot extend this further.

What I do is hitch up and partially raise the stabalizer handle. Once hitched, I can lower the handle in place to grip the towball. I am sure it is working as expected. I don't experience any snaking etc., but as new to caravaning I just need to make sure that this is working correctly.

I understand that an attachment is available from Alko to allow hitching correctly for 4x4 with the same problem at a cost of about £25, but is this needed ? If the view is this will not be working fully as it needs to be in upright position first, then I will go ahead and purchase.

Any help would be appreciated.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
ive got the same problem with terrano,i usually lift handle half way open the door fully,move caravan forward lift handle all the way and drop on towball,put down handle and close the door.some times the j/w winder will catch if caravan not in line with car.i have bought the handle attachment and it works fine,bit of a chew changing back and forth but it alleviates the problem

Apr 3, 2005
Visit site
I have a Vauxhall Frontera and i hitched the caravan on it for the first time at the weekend and what i did was to push the Alko handle down, open the rear door lift handle up hitch onto car push handle down, close door and away you go. A bit of messing about but practice makes perfect.

Mar 14, 2005
lutzschelisch.wix.com