Bailey Orion 440-5 with Ford Mondeo 1.6 EcoBoost

May 8, 2018
Visit site
Hello,

I am new to caravans having owned a motorhome for years and Id like some towing advice please.

We are buying a Bailey Orion 440-5, details as follows:
IRO 1102kg
MTPLM 1249kg
user payload 147kg

We have a Ford Mondeo 1.6 EcoBoost, details as follows:
Power 157 bhp
Top Speed 134 mph
0-60 mph 9 secs
Torque 270 Nm, 199 ft-lb
Weight 1498kg

According to https://towcar.info/GB/ they're a good match.

What are people's thought on this combination?

Any help much appreciated.

May 7, 2012
Visit site
From a safety and legal towing point of view this looks a decent match. The torque looks reasonable and the power output is just enough for a reasonable performance. It will probably mean a bit of gear changing on hills but not enough to be a problem for most people.
If you have a motor mover fitted to the caravan it will eat into the payload, so if you are traveling with gear for five that might need watching.

Nov 11, 2009
Visit site
I have used that matching website on my last two outfits and providing the user knows the respective weights, payloads and noseweights as well as the details of the car engine/ model I have found it’s predictions accurate. So much so that on actually towing with a 2 litre non turbo petrol Forester I decided I needed something with more torque. The website was spot on with its predictions.

Your proposed match looks okay ang having the low down extra torque of the eco boost engine should be more than adequate for the caravan. There will be times that the engine will need to be revved but eh those motors don’t mind bring revved and you should be well within it’s capabilities.

Oct 12, 2013
Visit site
Hello there ,