Battery Charging

Apr 27, 2015
Visit site
I am new to caravanning and we have bought a Lunar Clubman 470/2. I have a brand new 110amp/hr leisure battery and have also bought an intelligent digital battery charger which supposedly knows what it is doing, has several modes and can swith itself off to avoid overcharging. What has surprised me is the time it takes charging being used to normal car battery charging with a bog standard charger, usually doing the job overnight. My new battery and charging have been going for 48 hours and the lights on the charger still indicate charging in progress and have not clicked over to 'Full'.
Is this normal or do I have a dodgy charger?

Feb 6, 2009
Visit site
Most leisure batteries are supplied charged and ready to go.

When you bought the battery were you told to charge it up before use by the seller?

Its difficult to tell how long a battery should take to charge without knowing the output of the battery charger you are using... however the following may be helpful information.

A battery charger charging at around 3 Amps for 48 hours will "put in" around 144 Amps but to allow for losses the actual figure will be nearer 100 Amps so in theory that level of charging should bring an almost flat battery up to a full state of charge (115 Amp hour battery)

If you can get at the electrolyte with a hydrometer then the reading (specific gravity) should be around 1.265 for a fully charged cell and the voltage at rest after 12 hours without charge should be around 12.7v ( these are the figures for a fully charged battery at the normal sort of temperature we should be experiencing in England at this time of year.

Please be careful when dealing with batteries and always wear eye protection.... electrolyte is nasty stuff, and will easily burn holes in clothing and eyes!