Bizzare site charges

Jun 28, 2010
Visit site
As i say in many of my posts, im new to all this, just starting our 2nd year and busy looking for sites for the april mad season.
We are going to go after easter monday until the saturday.

Looking at the site charges in Northumberland, ive been staggered at the cost. Most are the naughty end of the twenties and some creeping into £30+.

The nearly all state 'price includes 1 unit, 1 car and 2 persons'..... then comes the list of extras....
Hook up - £2.50 - I can understand this, so no problems
Full awning - £2.50 - Why charge for an awning? youve paid for the pitch, are they going to sell the space used for an awning to another camper? does it require any special requirments from the site owner? why charge?
Porch awning - £2.00 - as above, why charge for awnings? and why is my porch awning cheaper per night than a full?
Children - 6-14 - £3.00 - I'd love to leave the kids at home but being a family holiday, they are an essential part unfortunatly. Is this extra charge to cover the use of facilities such as showers? is it t cover the cost of play equipment? if so, some sites with no play area still make the charge?

The list of extras goes on that looks like a bill when you come to service your car....ie you cant see the reason for the charge but you cant really get away without accepting it and agreeing to it. They charge for dogs, extra cars, pup tents, whether you were boxers or briefs (ok i lied about this one but you get my point)
Some charges i can understand as not everyone may want a hook up etc but others im puzzled by

Damian

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
This topic comes up year after year and it is always about charges for , in no particular order ,awnings, pup tents, children, dogs, hook up, standard pitch, super pitch etc etc.

The very simple answer is Because they can.
I suppose it could be argued that awnings damage the grass, as do pup tents.
Children use facilities