Caravan Tyre Upgrade

Dec 30, 2018
Visit site
Hello
I am new to caravanning and new to the forum.
Not sure how to ask a question.
So here goes.
I need to put tyres on the caravan with an increased load index, 185/80R14 102.
These will be of a larger diameter to the current tyres which are 185/65R24 93.
The van is fitted with Alko Mammut, the space in bang on 20mm, does anyone know how to adjust the motor movers to a gap of 35mm, which will give me clearance for the larger tyres.
There is lots of room under the arches.
I have messed with cars and motor bikes all my live, so am competent with the old spanner’s.
Thanks.

Parksy

Nov 12, 2009
Visit site
Hi Elwynhorton, welcome to the forum.
I've moved your query to start a new topic on the Technical message board rather than leaving attached to a nine month old unrelated thread where you originally posted it.
To ask a question first of all click on the New Topic tab and enter your subject title into the title box, then post your question and click the submit button at the bottom of the dialogue box

Dec 30, 2018
Visit site
Thanks, looks like the three nuts are mounted in slots; slacken these and the mover should pull backwards away from the tyre to open up the gap.
I will let you know how I get on.
Thanks again.

Oct 8, 2006
Visit site
It does beg the question why the OP needs bigger tyres? If 185/65R14 (I presume 24 was a typo) was the size fitted by the manufacturer why such a large upgrade? Has the caravan weight suddenly increased by 400Kg for some reason?
The OP should check the rating of the axle (there will be a label on the axle casing) as it is pointless fitting bigger tyres if the this means exceeding the axle load rating.

Dec 30, 2018
Visit site
Thanks for your reply.
The caravan is a bespoke Spanish import, which the manufacturer has adapted for a wheelchair user, hoist, lift etc. It is plated at 1600kg, the Alko chassis is stamped at 1600kg. But the tyres are rated at 650kg each.