Carver Cascade 2

Jul 16, 2014
Visit site
Hi All, I'm very new to this as bought our first caravan on Saturday to give it a try, we have a 1990 Swift Baronette with only 2 previous owners and in nice condition for its age, everything works perfectly except the Carver Water Heater on mains hook up. I have original instructions which cover the Carver Cascade 2 & Cascade 2 GE so I'm not sure which it is but it doesn't have the reset button for thermostat so hope that helps. The thermostat is held in by 2 screws on an oval plate. It works perfectly on Gas but will not heat up using mains. The heater switch works fine and I have tested thermostat and have a current on Brown and Blue wires so I am assuming that's correct. When I do the same with element connections I only have current on Brown Wire and nothing on Blue Wire. We were hoping to use it next weekend so really need to sort this asap if anyone could please help.
Thanks for any help received
Andy

Mar 25, 2014
Visit site
Before you go too much further, make sure that the supply cable is properly connected. The cable connection is the same as the old style electric kettle , it plugs in about half way down on the right hand side as you look down.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
With respect Turbo, your talking about a 99/2000 model, until then they were hard wired!

So 1990 was the original year the cascade had the 240v heating option, these early models only had one thermostat to control the temperature, if then that stat failed, there was a 'fusible link' to protect from overheating.

I'd expect then you have a blue and brown wire disappearing down a hole? if so and using a meter, check you have a circuit between blue and brown, if not, I still have one or two new ones available.

PS, while your at it, check you have, give or take, 84ohms between the two element pins

Jul 16, 2014
Visit site