Citroen Xsara Picasso as a tow car

Sep 27, 2006
Visit site
Hi all,

We are considering buying our first caravan and we currently own a 1999 Citroen Xsara Picasso 2.0Hdi which we would use as the tow car.

The van we are looking at is a Fleetwood Countryside 500/5; MRO=1040kg and MPLM=1270kg. My car handbook states the unladen weight of the car as 1300kg, the Gross vehicle weight as 1850kg and and Gross train weight as 3150.

By my calculations this combination would be legal and not exceed the car's max train weight even with a fully laden van. It would also be within the 85% guide provided we didn't put more than 70kg of kit in the van.

Am I missing something? Does anyone have any general experience / opinion on the suitability of the Citroen as a tow car?

Any help for a total novice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Rob

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hi Robert - I use the PICASSO 2.0 HDI as a towcar your figures look right I tow a 1100 Bailey ranger and it tows superbly thinking of trading up to 1230 kg and I have no doubt in my mind it will tow it great.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hi Robert - I use the PICASSO 2.0 HDI as a towcar your figures look right I tow a 1100 Bailey ranger and it tows superbly thinking of trading up to 1230 kg and I have no doubt in my mind it will tow it great.
sorry pressed the send key before i finished - the Picasso is a very capable tug and I am very pleased with mine - even the mpg

is excellent - go ahead yo wont regret it.

Apr 1, 2006
Visit site
Hi, if you want to be certain go to http://www.whattowcar.com/. There you can compute almost any car/caravan combination