complete newbie - Hello+help with caravan weights!

Jan 20, 2015
Visit site
Firtstly, just joined so hello to everyone!

Anyway i'm a complete novice with the technical sides of caravan weights so need some advice.

I'm trying to work out what the max size caravan we could use based on our current cars and also I'm not sure how much weight to add as'payload' into my calculations.

Can anyone give me an idea of the max weight to look at based on these figures for the cars? (i've put both cars down, the Berlingo is newer and nicer, but i think the A3 has a higher towing ability)

Citroen Berlingo: 1.6 diesel 115bhp
Mass in service 1624
max towing weight 1300
max laden weight 2065
Gross train weight 3065

Audi a3 2.0 diesel 140 bhp
mass in service 1503
max towing weight 1500
max laden weight 1900
gross train weight 3350

We're a family of 4, t adults, one toddler 3 yr old and one baby and no idea how much extra to add in calculations for payload! 300kg? 400kg?

Does this have to include the weight of family members as well?

We've looked at the Elddis Xplore 304 but wondered if we could go for anything bigger so just need an idea of what weight we could two once payload is taken into account as well.

Thanks in advance!!

Nov 6, 2005
Visit site
Your car is likely to be running at, or close to it's maximum weight, with luggage and all the childrens' paraphenalia - if that's the case, the Berlingo can only tow 1,000 kg - the difference between Gross Train Weight and Maximum Laden Weight.

On that same basis, the A3 could tow 1,450 kg but that gives a 96% towing ratio - which is on the high side for a beginner, assuming that you are.

IMO, it's best to assume the caravan will be fully laden, more likely overloaded!, so a 1,300 kg MTPLM caravan, 86% towing ratio, would be a good place to start - Elddis Xplore 434/435 would fit that bill.

Jan 20, 2015
Visit site