Does overheating your clutch cause permanent damage ?

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hi, on the way way up to the Lake District last week, we had to queue at roadworks for approx 45 mins and travelled only about 1 mile....but it was all up hill and stop/start in first gear ! With the weight of the caravan on the back and the steep gradient, the clutch was smoking by the time we reached the summit and felt very spongy by the time we had cleared the roadworks.

Driving solo during the week the car ( Sorento manual ) seems fine but as I'm no mechanic, I wondered if I could have caused some permanent damage ?

Thanks,

Mike

Nov 26, 2006
Visit site
The sponginess would, I guess, be due to boiling of the hydraulic fluid. This has probably been corrected just be cooling down, but I would bleed the clutch anyway, and probably replace the fluid.

Once upon a time I would have said you could have glazed the surface of the clutch pads, thus reducing their ability to grip the plates, but I've not seen inside a clutch for at least 15 years, so I'm not sure if the matrials used nowadays would still have this problem.

Given how expesive clutches are, I guess I would find a good steep hill, do a few slooooow hill starts, and see how it coped. If OK, try again with the van on the back.

You won't have done any permanent damage - clutches are technically a "consumable" item, like brake pads. They are, however, a lot dearer and a lot more difficult to replace!