D'oh, overloaded my Bailey Ranger 2000 electrics

Hi, I'm really new to 'modern' caravanning. My only other one was back in the late 80's, no electrics, no water, no frills! However, my pride and joy now is a Ranger 470/4 built in 2000. Now I'm no electrician, but I seem to have shot one of the circuits (heater, sockets and half the internal lights) by getting too keen on plugging things in whilst hooked up to the site supply, then turning the Carver heater up too much! Can anyone suggest what I do next please?

I've unplugged all of the domestic stuff, the fridge is running on gas, I've swapped out the 10 amp fuse in the switch next to the Carver thermostat and I flicked the RCD back up to the 'on' position. I've also faffed about with the blue button on the RCD but it doesn't seem to click as I would have expected for a reset. I'm definitely getting power to the distribution board, because the 12v stuff is indicating that it's all in order. I've inspected the 'car type' fuses in both fuse panels and they all seem to be tickety boo. But I remain without half of the mains lighting, the electric heater and the plug sockets.

I'm at work just now, so I'm away from the site. Here's a dumb question for those who know electrics....... could something as simple as a blown bulb be holding me back? I'm sure that one of the lights had a bit of a paddy after the third time I flicked up the tripped RCD. Sorry to be so non-technical, but I usually only work on 400 thousand volt overhead lines, and domestic electrics sadly just doesn't come into my world.

Any help for a newbie would be most welcomed here. I suspect it's such a basic solution that the rest of the caravanning fraternity will be shaking their heads at me in total pity! Thanks

Damian

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
If you have no mains electric and the RCD trip does not click , as it should, then you have no power from the site hook up bollard.