Fridge wont run when towing

Jan 7, 2019
Visit site
Hi Everyone,

Im new to caravanning, bought a Abbey Adventura in November and took it out this weekend to Buxton to try it out and figure out all the buttons and switches. I sorted most but I have one issue if you could help.

When I towed the caravan I made sure the switches in the closet were all off (Space heather, Water Heater, Battery Charger and Pump) and the little black switch was switched to Car, I then switched the Thetford Fridge onto the battery symbol and drove off.

When I got to buxton after approx. 1hr 20min I looked at the battery charge meter which was in the green then switched the black button to VAN and noticed the battery charge meter jumped down to below the green is this right?

Also when I packed up on Sunday I did it all again, all red switches off and the black switch to CAR but also noticed the light inside the fridge stayed off when you opened the door, does this mean the fridge isn't running whilst im towing or am I doing something stupid.

I also tried to run the fridge using gas on Saturday (just to see if it was working) and all I could hear was constant clicking, but I remember that I just turned the knob to the gas symbol and didn't hold it in, should I have held it in to light it like you would when lighting a gas fire???

Any words of wisdom would help.

Wayne

Jan 19, 2002
Visit site
The 12v supply from the car should only operate to run the fridge and charge the caravan battery when the engine is running - the electrics being protected by a relay to prevent the caravan flattening the car battery when parked up. If you have a meter you could check that there is supply while the engine is running.
I am assuming that you have either a 13 pin jaeger plug, or the original 12N Black (essential wiring for roadlights) and 12s Grey (Supplementary circuits) connected.