Gas Bottle

Nov 15, 2019
Visit site
Hi I'm a complete newbie to caravaning and picking up our caravan in a few weeks. I was wondering what the situation is with the gas. If i buy a 6kg bottle do i need anything else? Are all the connections and the regulator fitted inside the van?

Cheers

Mel

Mar 17, 2007
Visit site
Hi, depends on your van. Regulators fitted to the bulkheads are the norm in most modern vans. I am not sure when they became standard (early 2000s maybe??????). Previously regulators were on gas bottles. If you have a bulkhead regulator then you will need a pigtail appropriate to the gas bottle. If you plan to caravan in cooler weather, propane is the better choice as butane does not gas at low temperature. Let us know the make and age of the van you are getting and someone will give more specific advice.
mel

Reactions: ProfJohnL

Damian

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
If you are picking up the van from a dealer, they "should" ask you what gas cylinder you want to use and supply the suitable pigtail to connect to the cylinder.
I would advise using Propane as it is usable in all temperatures whereas Butane is no good in cold weather.

The regulator will be in the front locker normally , or wherever the van maker has sited it, the dealer should show you as he should also show you how everything works.

Jun 17, 2011
Visit site
One word of warning is to check nose weight. Your caravan will probably have 100 kg limit but your car might have a lower tow ball limit. You might need a smaller bottle, especially if you fit two, which is usual.

Nov 15, 2019
Visit site
Thanks all for the replies. Planning on getting one 6kg propane cylinder for now. The caravan is a new elddis xplore 586. So hopefully all I need is the pigtails and bottle

Damian

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Well done on your choice of van.
Make sure the dealer shows you how everything works and ask as many questions as you need to.