Going to buy our very first caravan soon. But we are complete novices. First will our car which is a bmw 1 series 1.6l 16 plate tow a caravan?

Nov 16, 2015
Visit site
Welcome to the forum, you have started the correct way, asking about hidden costs,
I pay £440 a year for our storage , it is in a Farmers Barn with 5 other caravans, there are another 250 vans in a new field, all secure behind gates with alarms and CCTV.

Insurance I go for either of the two main clubs cover and go for new for old. There are other insurance companys around , you just have to read what they provide.
Sites, do you want small , 5 caravan sites at between £15 to £30, or go to large private sites fron £25 to £ ???

Bedding, duvets or sleeping bags,
Plates and utensiles in the van, don't buy from caravan shops ,they are toooooo expensive.
I will leave others to help from here.

Nov 11, 2009
Visit site
How about the costs like insurance, storage and any other hidden costs that we might need to know of?
Thanks
Ray
Firstly you need to find out what the cars towing limit is. This will be in the V5. As it’s a relatively small and light car it will be limited to a lighter weight caravan. If you look on the V5 it will show Maximum Authorised Mass and Mass In Service. These will help us provide further advise.
You could look at the Caravan and Motor Home club website. They have lots of help pages for novice and experienced alike on all aspects of caravanning. The Camping and Caravan Club do so to.

If you only have a B category licence there are quite strict restrictions on what you can tow. They should not be a problem for a I series but going to a larger car and caravan may require you to obtain a BE licence. IE a 3 Series plus slightly larger heavier van could exceed the B licence weight limit of 3500 kg for the Maximum Authorised Mass of the car plus the MTPLM of the caravan. You can’t get around it by running the car and caravan light. It is the sum of two specified limits.