Going to Holland this year?

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Be aware that UK credit cards are still not generally accepted in Holland. Most larger stores - OK. Smaller stores in towns - some do, some don't. Supermarkets - cash only from the Brits. Don't get caught out.

And although they have a form of Chip & PIN, it is not compatible with the UK system, so it's back to signing the slip.

Dec 16, 2003
Visit site
I have to say these posts are a mystery to me, I've been travelling to and working in Holland on and off for ten years or so. I always pay hotel, Restaurant and fuel Bills by credit card and have used ATM's many times with no problems, and in shops and garden centres where I've been when accompanied by wife we have never had problems paying with cards. My clients in Holland are English and live here and they never have problems that they can remember.

Nov 2, 2005
Visit site
We went to holland a few weeks ago. Petrol using ban/credit visa ok. larger places ok. But we got caught out in supermarket, a restuarant, and a few other places.

They don't like english visa whether credit or debit.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Whoops, forgot to say that restaurants and fuel are both OK on UK credit or debit cards.

I note what you say Cris, but you have not said that you have successfully used as UK card in a supermarket.

To be more specific:

No problem in IKEA, restaurants, Halfords, a cycle shop, a cheese farm, fuel stations, large "touristy" shops.

Refused in a number of smaller shops.

Definitely "no" in supermarkets. No to Visa, Mastercard and Delta debit card. We experienced the same in October 2002.

I don't want to get into an argument about this. I am only trying to help people who might be going to Holland this year. We were caught in 2002 at the head of a queue with _80 of shopping on the belt, and I had to leg it to a cashpoint.