Green energy

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jul 18, 2017
Visit site
Why is it that with the so called Green Energy the tariff is higher than the standard rate? We were with a Green Energy supplier, but it went into administration. Strangely enough we have a Smart meter and they do Estimates and Reads?
Also we have not had a single bill this year except the one that arrived today due to the green energy company going into administration. Trying to understand the bill which is split between the original and new supplier is a nightmare and I worked in the industry many years ago. :D

May 7, 2012
Visit site
Try Octopus, they are competitive, you only get green energy and they even reject the use of buying carbon offsets which some claim is green to boost their figures. They also, as there adverts say, come out top in the which surveys as their service is second to none. Not sure why they do not promote the green bit but if you check the information on their website you can see the facts.
For the rest the answer is probably because they can.

Jun 16, 2020
Visit site
What I fail to understand is: on some you pay for Energy, others it’s 100% green. And others are varying percentages of green.

How can the suppliers, (who are not really suppliers but simply billers). Differentiate, as the true supply is all down the same wires.

Can anyone explain please.

John

Jul 18, 2017
Visit site
What I fail to understand is: on some you pay for Energy, others it’s 100% green. And others are varying percentages of green.

How can the suppliers, (who are not really suppliers but simply billers). Differentiate, as the true supply is all down the same wires.

Can anyone explain please.

John