headlights on citroen C5 est

G

Although i am no expert on Citroen cars I doubt whether you will be able to adjust the headlamps far enough to be legal in Europe. All UK cars are fitted with lights that dip to the left, whereas all European cars have vertically dipping lights. Their cars are legally allowed to be driven in the UK without further adjustment, ours are not legally allowed to be driven in Europe. Don't ask me why we don't have the vertically dipping lights as well. I suspect manufacturer profiteering.

The correct way to meet the law is to fit stickers to the lights. Halfords sell kits at around 6 pounds which are designed to fit just about every car on the road. I fitted a set this year and they lasted the whole 3 months we were away without falling off. Removal was easy using soapy water. Do fit them tho', it is better than risking a long discussion with the Police on the other side.

Jul 15, 2005
Visit site
Hello Ellis,

I also have Xenon headlamps on my C-Class, and regularly commute to Rotterdam for work.

Please don't do what Scotch Lad suggested - the light from the Xenon lights will bond the masks onto the polycarbonate lenses. His advice is perfectly OK for normal Halogen bulbs - but a real no no with Xenon discharge headlamps.

You have two solutions:

1. Ask the Citreon garage to adjust the headlamps to symmetrical pattern - which is legal in Europe. This is what I've had done.

2. Buy a set of plastic headlamp protectors (clip over the normal lenses) and fit the masks to these - it doesn't matter if the masks bond to the protectors, you just take the masks off when you return and keep them safe for your next trip.

Xenon headlamps must have automatic level control as standard - so you can't change the headlamp vertical height - which would be another solution for normal Halogen headlamps with manual control.

Robert

Mar 14, 2005
lutzschelisch.wix.com
Solution No. 1 is by far the better of the two.