Hello! complete novice hoping to learn a lot!

Aug 1, 2018
Visit site
Hello everyone!
I am a complete caravan novice and hope to find some useful info here! I have just bought an old caravan, its a Swift Corniche 14/4 whatever that means and I was told it was made in 1996. I have adapted it inside for my disabled husband, no problem there and it had a service just before I bought it. We will almost certainly never use this not connected to electricity or in cold weather so not worried about heating but I do want hot water for the shower to work.

I have a folder full of mysterious things regarding its workings BUT, I have hit a snag right away! when I connected the cable to our house mains supply, a loud noise started, like a pump working dry. I couldn't see anything where a pump would be on and trying to work. I disconnected it right away.

I can't find anything on google that helps and not even sure what this noise actually is although it does sounds exactly like a pump. Any help or pointers to other advice here would be gratefully received!

Oct 12, 2013
Visit site
Hi & welcome Krackers ,
Not knowing your van but have a look at this link https://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=https://www.caravantalk.co.uk/community/topic/96063-swift-corniche-142-water-problem/&ved=2ahUKEwjoiefT4MzcAhWQPFAKHey8BSAQFjAAegQIBRAB&usg=AOvVaw0nyyhdWQo417ag7SqE4Qyp
or

https://www.google.co.uk/search?safe=active&client=ms-android-samsung&ei=ZyFiW-6fFcLZwQKcy6qYAQ&q=swift corniche 14/4 water pump controls&oq=Swift Corniche 14/4 water&gs_l=mobile-gws-wiz-serp.1.0.35i39.3635.6176..10014...0.0...131.619.3j3......0....1.........0j0i71j0i22i30j33i21j33i160.5nHYZP_GwFo
It could be a similar set up to yours ...
Good luck .
Craig

May 7, 2012
Visit site
Welcome to the forum. Swift is the manufacturer and Corniche is the model although they no longer use that name. 14/4 is the layout, probably 14 ft and 4 berths. The Corniche was generally a well specified range of caravans.