Help with a leak

Aug 18, 2024
Visit site
Hi I’m new to caravans would love a little bit of help I’ve bought a 2 birth Colchester caravan n I have no idea what the guy before me has done but it’s started raining and this has happened any help would be much appreciated thanks

Attachments

• D5CC0B32-E7DC-4EB9-AFAC-85BBCF453297.jpeg
    D5CC0B32-E7DC-4EB9-AFAC-85BBCF453297.jpeg
    2 MB · Views: 30
  • DC555346-000E-4C98-8202-50DBB97BBFC8.jpeg
    DC555346-000E-4C98-8202-50DBB97BBFC8.jpeg
    1.4 MB · Views: 28
Nov 11, 2009
Visit site
Welcome to the Forum, sorry to hear you have damp, unfortunately it’s a fact of life in many caravans and not only older models. If it’s around the rooflight it will need removing, all old sealant removing and resealed and replaced. Hopefully the “damaged” area will dry out and not look too bad afterwards. Otherwise it becomes a much bigger job if you have to remove damaged roof materials and replace them.

If you are not up to replacing the rooflight get an Approved Workshop Scheme technician to do the job. Google to get the details of AWS in your area. A mobile tech could do the job. In the meantime you can use some duct tape to reduce water ingress. There are very effective sealing tapes that are designed for a more permanent result but I wouldn’t recommend using them unless you decided not to have the rooflight removed and resealed. Two good ones are Eternabond and Rooflock.

Last edited:
Reactions: Hutch
Aug 18, 2024
Visit site
Thanks for your reply I take it the guy has just covered the roof light with the plywood? And the soft spot next to the ply is leaking down to that also? I’m not very good with diy never come across this before th ask again

Nov 11, 2009
Visit site
I would dread to think what is under the plywood which should be removed for further examination. Water ingress doesn’t always appear at the point it enters it can travel via the structure.

Nov 16, 2015
Visit site